Syncing Web Server States

Follow

Syncing web servers represent a website environment that Agility CMS will synchronize published content and configuration settings. A typical Agility CMS instance will have a uat/staging syncing web server and a production syncing web server.

During the life cycle of development, it is common to modify the sync state of a web server. There are 3 states for a syncing web server. ActiveDeactivated, and Maintenance Mode.

There are many reasons why you might want to change the Sync State of your web server:

  • Change a server from Deactivated to Active after you’ve initially setup the server and deployed your website files.
  • Change your live server from Active to Deactivated if you are making major changes to existing content definitions or module definitions and don’t want any potential breaking change to the production web server. You can test on the uat/staging web server, verify then re-activate your production web  server. The production web server will continue to function while Deactivated, however you will not be able to publish content during this time.

  • Change a server which is experiencing sync errors from Active to Maintenance so that it will continue its sync attempts while suppressing any errors to the content editors that may be causing alarm, while you attempt to troubleshoot the issue.

Active

Content Server will attempt to synchronize published content with this web server and any sync errors will be reported to content editors.

Maintenance

Content Server will attempt to synchronize published content with this web server, however any sync errors will be suppressed.

Deactivated

Content Server will not attempt to synchronize published content with this web server, the web server will continue to server content from its own local files.

Useful Links:

How to: Change the state of a syncing web server

 

0 out of 0 found this helpful

Comments

0 comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.