Managing Page Content

Follow

This article will walk you through the core concepts of page content management from the content itself, to seo, settings, scheduling and version history.

 

Content

Content is the place to change the structure and content of your site. You can add new modules, edit your existing modules or rearrange the structure of your modules and content zones. You will have a list of available modules to add and you will have to make sure you add it within the right content zone since this determines where the module will be placed on your site. Click here for more information about how to structure your pages through page templates, content zones and modules.

 

SEO

This is where you are able to add metadata in shape of keywords and descriptions of your content.This can either be linked to a specific module or a whole page.  

Search Engine Optimization is essential to make sure that you will obtain a lot of relevant traffic on your pages. Below are some helpful links on SEO best practices.

Get help on SEO:


Settings

In settings you can change the page type and page template. Read about our different page types here and templates here. If you click on change you will be able to pick a new template and rearrange the modules.

 

 pic13.PNG

When you click on change the box below will appear. Say, you want to switch from a two column template to a one column template. In that case, you will have to drag your modules to a new content zone in your new template. You can always click apply new template and then preview to see how your page looks and go back and edit before you publish it.

 

pic14.PNG

 

If you want to clone the template click clone and select the module zones you want to share across pages using the same page template. Here, you are also able to apply the template changes to all sub-pages using the same page template.

pic15.PNG

 

Scripts

This is usually where you would enter any JavaScript that needs to be run on this page. Typically, you would use this to enter any page specific analytics scripts such as a tracking pixel of a custom google analytics event. From this section, you can also optionally exclude this page from your Global Scripts which normally contain a global analytics script across the site.This can be useful for excluding a page from your google analytics.

 

Alerts

Alerts give you the option to create a list of users who will be notified when workflow occurs on an item. First, you select the user you want to assign alerts. Next, you can choose between the alert types as seen below.  

 

pic16.PNG

 

You can easily add and delete users from the list. If you want to propagate alerts to all modules, linked content and child pages, click on pic17.PNG the icon.

 

Security

Security settings are normally controlled from settings/user management by administrators or managers. These settings will work globally - i.e the role the user gets will determine the permissions the user has on all items. However, there is a security tab within all modules and pages as well. This allows you, if you are a manager or administrator globally, to give users another role on the specific item.

The roles are listed below and determines what the users are capable of doing. As administrator or manager you can easily add or delete users from your list as well as changing the users’ roles.

None - No access to the page

Report viewers can access the dashboard and reports. Report viewers are able to read all reports and export these.

UGC Readers can access the dashboard, user content and website users and view all content on these pages.

Readers can see all content and properties but cannot make any changes

Contributors can create new pages and modify the pages they have created

Editors can create new pages and modify the pages they or others have created

UGC Moderators can see dashboard, user content and website users and moderate comments from users (if an admin sets up the alerts)

Senior Moderators are able to moderate comments (if an admin sets up the alerts) and to receive escalations

Publishers can create new pages and modify the pages they and others have created and publish content.

Approvers can create new pages and modify the pages they have created as well as approve pages that require approval.

Deleters can create new pages and modify the pages they and others have created. Can also delete pages.  

Designers can create new pages and modify the pages they and others have created. Can create page templates, content zones and modules. Can define what modules appear in the module zones of each page.

UGC Managers can use all functions within user content and website users such as moderate comments, approve, delete and escalate UGC (user generated content).

Managers can create new pages and modify the pages they and others have created. Can publish content, approve pages that require approval, delete pages and change security settings on pages and modules.

Administrators can use all functions within the system. Can also create new users and configure global settings such as dashboard links, language configuration, website configuration, domain setup)

 

If you have e-commerce integrated in your CMS you will have access to these additional roles:

 

E-commerce readers  can see all e-commerce properties* but can not make any changes.

E-commerce editors can see all e-commerce properties*. They can fulfill orders, refund payments, send invoices and add items to orders but they can not make payments.They can also add new products and edit current product information as well as adding new promotion codes and manage existing ones.  

E-commerce managers can see and manage all functions within e-commerce.

 

*All e-commerce properties refer to orders, returns, products, tickets, store credit, customers, subscriptions, promotions and reports  

After you give a user a role or change a user’s role you have to click on the pic17.PNG icon if you wish to propagate security to all child pages. If you move a page beneath a page that has applied security, click the (Inherit Security from Parent) to inherit its security.

 

Scheduling

Sometimes it can be handy to schedule when you want a page to be released or pulled beforehand. This function allows you to pick a specific date and time. If you set a pull date, you might wanna set a Redirect URL to redirect traffic to another page. On the pull date and time all traffic will automatically be redirected.

pic18.PNG

You can either make a new page or schedule an update for an existing page. In any case, make sure to press ‘publish’ after you scheduled the release date. In this way, your new page (or your old updated page) will be released as scheduled.

It is always the latest version of your page as will be published on the release date, so even if you make any changes after you scheduled the release date these will still be included as long as you remember to click “publish” after your editing.

 

History

You can at any time recover an old version of your pages that has been saved.

If you remember the time and date of the version you want to recover you can easily find the right version on the list which is in reverse chronological order with the current version first. If you are unsure about which version you are looking for, you can click on any of the versions from the list. This will show you the structure of the old version through modules and content zones.  You can also see the content if you press on your modules.

pic19.PNG

If you want to see how it looks in live mode you can view the version by clicking ‘recover this version’. The chosen version will not be published automatically, you will have to press ‘publish’ if you want to publish the version you just recovered.

 

 

 

 

 

0 out of 0 found this helpful

Comments

0 comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.