Agility gives you the ability to control the content that gets published live to your website through our Publishing Approval Workflow.
This guide will walk you through setting up this Publishing Approval Workflow.
Before we start, there are a few things to take note of:
The Publishing Workflow is comprised of three parts:
- Enable Approval Workflow
- Setting up Workflow Roles
- Setting up Alert Notifications
Enabling Approval Workflow
To enable the Approval Workflow:
- Select the page you wish to enable the Approval Workflow on
- Click on SETTINGS
- Click on the 'Enable Approval Workflow on this Page' checkbox
- Click SAVE
- Click PUBLISH
Setting up Workflow Roles
Before setting up the Workflow Roles, we will go over the types of roles used for this workflow.
There are 3 general roles that are used in this workflow:
Editor > Publisher > Manager
Editors can only make changes to modules and cannot publish content. Once a change has been completed, they can send a "Request Approval" request to the person (Publisher) who is responsible for approving the changes.
Publishers are able to edit modules (make changes, save, publish, and unpublish) and can publish and unpublish pages
The Publisher will receive an Alert in their 'Tasks' notifications that a change has been made on a module and is requesting approval.
The Publisher can either DECLINE or APPROVE of the changes made. If DECLINED, the Editor will receive a task notification that it has been declined, and to review your changes. The Editor will receive a task notification if the changes have been APPROVED.
The main difference between a Publisher and a Manager role is that Managers are able to create or delete modules, whereas Publishers can only edit modules.
Managers can be set up to receive alerts when content has been published on a specific page or module.
SETTING UP ROLES
Users with administrator access have the ability to change a user's role.
On the left sidebar navigation, click on 'SETTINGS'. Then, locate 'USER MANAGEMENT' on in the list or dashboard.
Click on the username whose role is to be changed. Then click on the 'ROLES' tab. Select the new role (Editor, Publisher, or Manager) for the user and click 'SAVE & CLOSE'.
Setting up Alert Notifications
Agility allows users to set up email alerts to be notified when there are content changes done to a page or module.
There are different types of alerts that can be set up. Here is a breakdown of the most common alert types:
Update: Users will receive an email notification when content has been updated
Approve: Users will receive an email notification when content changes have been Approved
Decline: Users will receive an email notification when content changes have been Declined
Request Approval: Users will receive an email notification when Content is pending Approval (waiting to be approved)
Publish: Users will receive an email notification when content items are published
How to set up Alert Notifications
To Navigate to Alerts:
Select desired Page/Content > Alerts
Select the Page or Module you would like to set up your alerts on and click on the + button
Next, select the user you wish to add an alert to
Then, select the alert type you would like to add to the user and click Add Alerts